

Highlighting research achievements; Honoring first-time PIs and new PI Millionaires.



#### Welcome

Bill Hardgrave
President
University of Memphis

### FY 2021 Achievements & Faculty Recognition

**Jasbir Dhaliwal** 

Executive Vice President

Division of Research & Innovation

#### Class of 2022 PI Millionaires

This year's PI millionaires join 112 of their UofM colleagues in achieving this prestigious designation.

#113

**Esra Ozdenerol**Department of Earth Sciences

#115

Kevin Berisso
Herff College of Engineering

#117

Duane McKenna
Department of Biological Sciences

#119

Maryam Salehi Esfandarani Herff College of Engineering #114

Ranganathan Gopalakrishnan Herff College of Engineering

#116

Jack Strahl

Center for Research in Educational Policy

**#118** 

Helen Sable

Department of Psychology

#120

Xuan Zhao
Department of Chemistry

#**121**Latrice Pichon
School of Public Health

# FY 2021 Principal Investigators

\* Denotes First Time Pls **Bolded** Names are Pl Millionaires

Adelman, James Ali, Mohd Hasan Arellano, David Bartelli, Debra Batastini, Ashley\* Berisso, Kevin Berlin, Kristoffer Bertz, Christine Bidelman, Gavin Bloomer, Rick

Bowers, Emerson Keith

Boykins, Anita Brewster, Timothy Brondo, Keri

Brown, Shawn Bumgardner, Joel D.

Casey, Laura Chaudron, Gerald

Chen, Su
Cho, Minhae\*
Choi, Eunseo
Chunrong, Jia
Clark, Kensha
Cook, Amy\*
Cramer, Chris
Cross, Beverly
Cunningham, Jamein\*
Daigle, Bernie

Daigle, Bernie
Deaton, Russell J.
Deyonker, Nathan
Doblas, Ana\*
Dupont, Randolph
Edgar, Amanda\*
Elswick, Susan
Fagan, Thomas

Fatemi, Ali

Fleming, Damon Frank, Demetria\*

Franklin, Teresa\*
Fujiwara, Tomoko
Fuller, Rhema
Garner, Charles\*
Gillespie, Elizabeth\*
Gkolias, Mike
Goebel, Thomas

#### Gopalakrishnan, Ranganathan

Greenwood, Daniel\* Griswold, Wendy Hagge, Michael

#### Hall, Alfred

Harding, Melvyn
Headley, Alexander\*
Hill, Arleen Alice
Hirschi, Melissa
Hoang, Thang
Hochstein, John I.
Homayouni, Ramin
Hu, Xiangen
Huang, Xiaohua
Hughes, Ryan\*
Hunter, William

Iratzoqui-Greenfield, Amaia

Ivey, Stephanie
Jacobs, Eddie
James, Wesley
Jennings, Jessica
Jin, Seok Won
Kaldon, Carolyn
Karmaus, Wilfried
Kedia, Satish K.
Kennedy, Michael L.
Kumar, Santosh

Kyriakopoulos, Christodoulos

Langston, Charles Laradji, Mohamed Larsen, Daniel Lasiecka, Irena LeDoux, Mark

Lennon-Dearing, Robin Lester, Deranda\*

Levy, Marian

Marchetta, Jeffrey G Marshall, Melissa McCutcheon, James

McDevitt-Murphy, Meghan

#### McKenna, Duane

Meier, Claudio

Melton-Fant, Courtnee Mishra, Sabyasachee Murphy, James

Murphy, James

Neely-Barnes, Susan

#### Ozdenerol, Esra

Parrill-Baker, Abby L.

Pavlik, Phil Pence, Brandt Perez, Michael

Perry Claybon, Lavonnie

Pezeshk, Shahram

#### Pichon, Latrice

Pirkey, Andrea\*
Poston, Robin
Powell, Douglas
Rudd, Loretta
Ruggs, Enrica
Rus, Vasile
Sabatini, John
Sable, Helen
Sabri, Firouzeh
Sajja, Aaryani\*

#### Salehi Esfandarani, Maryam

Santo, Charles Schallert, Mary\*



### Every once in a while, a new technology, an old problem, and a big idea turn into an **innovation**.

—Dean Kamen

Schauss, Eraina Schiro-Geist, Chrisann Simon, Nicholas Simone, Paul Singarella, Irma\* Smalley, Robert Smeltzer, Matthew

**Strahl, Jack** Strong, Genae Sutter, Thomas R. Sweigard, Richard Trump, Kris-Stella
Venugopal, Deepak
Waldron, Brian
Wang, Lan
Ward, Kenneth D.
Watson, Thomas
Weddle-West, Karen
Whelan, James P.
Willis, A Brooke\*
Windsor, Alistair
Withers, Mitchell M.

Yang, Yong Yu, Xinhua Zanskas, Stephen Zhan, Lin\* Zhang, Hongmei Zhang, Yufeng\* **Zhao, Xuan** Zheng, Bentuo Zoblotsky, Todd

### FY2021 Research Book Publications

Beginning this year, the Division of Research & Innovation is tracking publications by our research faculty on an ongoing basis. To view the books published in FY21, follow the link below. Books published in FY22 can be sent to **researchdev@memphis.edu**.

To view, visit bit.ly/FY21books.

Congratulations to all our authors!

### Recognition of Research Support Staff

The Division of Research & Innovation recognizes that the success of our faculty is, in part, thanks to the many pre-award coordinators, research support staff, and individuals across campus who help to ensure the success of the research enterprise at the University of Memphis.

# First-Time Principal Investigators (FY 21)

Department of Counseling, Educational Psychology and Research

Ashley Batastini

**School of Social Work** 

Minhae Cho Teresa Franklin

**Department of Computer Science** 

Amy Cook

Fogelman College of Business & Economics Jamein Cunningham

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Ana Doblas

Department of Communication & Film Amanda Edgar

Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law Demetria Frank

**Department of Chemistry** *Charles Garner* 

**Department of Public and Nonprofit Administration** *Elizabeth Gillespie* 

College of Health Sciences
Daniel Greenwood
Mary Schallert
Yufeng Zhang

Herff College of Engineering Alexander Headley Aaryani Sajja

**Department of Psychology** Deranda Lester

University Libraries Irma Singarella

**Educational Initiatives**A. Brooke Willis

Lin Zhan

# Special Recognition



Ana Doblas
Electrical and Computer Engineering

**NSF Early Career Award** 



Maryam Salehi Esfandarani
Civil Engineering
NSF Early Career Award

# Research Impact Top Faculty by Scopus H-Index

FACULTY MEMBER	SCOPUS H-INDEX	DEPARTMENT
Bowlin, Gary	53	Biomedical Engineering
Sutter, Tom	52	Department of Biology
Karmaus, Wilfred	51	School of Public Health
Fatemi, Ali	49	Mechanical Engineering
Lasiecka, Irena	47	Department of Mathematical Sciences
Beck, Gayle	46	Department of Psychology
Ward, Kenneth	45	School of Public Health
Rudd, David	44	Department of Psychology
Bollobas, Bela	43	Department of Mathematical Sciences
Lindner, Ernö	42	Biomedical Engineering
Murphy, Jim	42	Department of Psychology
Berman, Jeff	40	Department of Psychology
Triggiani, Roberto	39	Department of Mathematical Sciences
Bumgardner, Joel	38	Biomedical Engineering
Oller, Kimbrough	38	School of Communication Sciences and Disorders
Skalli, Omar	38	Department of Biology
Mishra, Sanjay	37	Department of Physics and Materials Science
Dasgupta, Dipankar	36	Department of Computer Science
Langston, Charles	36	Center for Earthquake Research and Information
Gallagher, Shaun	35	Department of Philosophy
Huang, Xiaohua	35	Department of Chemistry
Bloomer, Richard	34	College of Health Sciences
Parrill-Baker, Abby	33	Department of Chemistry

#### About Scopus H-Index

The University of Memphis subscribes to Scopus, a database of citations and abstracts. An H-index of 40 means, for example, that a scientist has published 40 papers that each had at least 40 citations.

