University of Memphis Photo
Calipari Named a Finalist for the 2009 Henry Iba Award, The USBWA National Coach of the Year Honor University News
For release: March 3, 2009

For press information, contact Lamar Chance, 901/678-2349

John Calipari
John Calipari
ST. LOUIS, Mo. – University of Memphis head coach John Calipari has been named a finalist for the 2009 Henry Iba Award, the U.S. Basketball Writers of America (USBWA) announced Monday. The Iba Award is the USBWA’s National Coach of the Year honor.

It is the second-straight year Calipari is a finalist for the Iba Award. Last week, freshman Tyreke Evans was selected as a finalist for the USBWA’s National Player of the Year honor, which is the Oscar Robertson Trophy.

Calipari has guided the Tigers to a 26-3 overall record and a 14-0 mark in C-USA play. Memphis jumped into the top five in both national polls in recent weeks, marking the fourth-straight season the Tigers achieved a top-five national ranking. Calipari also directed the Tigers to a fourth-straight C-USA regular season title. It is the first time in the program's history that Memphis has claimed four-consecutive regular season crowns.

Earlier this season, Calipari became Memphis’ all-time winningest coach, moving past Tiger legend Larry Finch. Calipari now has a record of 245-68 in his ninth season at Memphis. With the Tigers’ fifth win in 2008-09, Calipari jumped into the No. 2 spot for most victories by a head coach in his first 17 years at the Division I level. Only Roy Williams has more wins by a head coach at the NCAA Division I level in the first 17 years than Calipari.

Last year, Calipari was named the 2007-08 Naismith National Coach of the Year for the second time in his career. Calipari and Duke’s Mike Krzyzewski are the only two-time recipients of the Naismith National Coach of the Year honor.

In addition to Calipari, the coaches nominated for the Iba Award are: Mike Anderson (Missouri), Jeff Capel (Oklahoma), Jamie Dixon (Pittsburgh), Mike Montgomery (California), Stew Morrill (Utah State), Matt Painter (Purdue), Oliver Purnell (Clemson), Bill Self (Kansas) and Brad Stevens (Butler).

The Henry Iba Award has been presented since 1959. It is named for the legendary Oklahoma State coach.

Media Resources
Facts at a Glance

Office of Communications Services
303 Administration Building
Memphis, TN 38152
Phone: 901/678-2843
Fax: 901/678-3607
Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2015 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
Last Updated: 12/21/12