University of Memphis Photo
U of M Will Welcome 49 Emerging Leaders This Fall University News
For release: June 16, 2009

For press information, contact Gabrielle Maxey, 901/678-2843

Emerging Leaders Scholarships have been awarded to 49 incoming freshmen to attend the University of Memphis this fall. Since it was established in 1982, more than 441 students have participated in the Emerging Leaders program.

Students participate in a structured and learning-outcome-based four-year program focusing on communication, social change, and leadership. Recipients also complete community service hours and attend a speaker series and a leadership skill workshop series each semester.

The junior class produces a project for the University, while seniors implement a project for the Memphis community. Emerging Leaders are also heavily involved in campus life as members of student government, Greek fraternities and sororities, and many other organizations, and as participants in Frosh Camp, as orientation guides, and as residence hall assistants.

The 2009 recipients from Tennessee are:

Jeremy K. Bratcher - Trenton
Lauren R. Byrd – Wartburg
Lauryn E. Caldwell - Ripley
Alexandria D. Carter - Memphis
Joseph M. Casey - Jackson
Matthew D. Coker - Dyersburg
Janie Crick - Mt. Juliet
Josh M. Day - Humboldt
Rebecca A. Day – Bartlett
Nuria Espin – Cordova
Hope O. Francis - Gates
Lauren S. Ganavazos - Collierville
Melissa A. Gross - Memphis
Joseph C. Guyton - Memphis
Elham Ibrahim - Memphis
Jelisa M. Jefferson - Memphis
Nancy Danielle Jones - Martin
Nicole La-Faye Jones - Sharon
Mayra Lopez – Bartlett
Reginald K. Lowery - Cordova
Mandy N. Martin - Dickson
Caray G. Oldham - Gallatin
Ashley N. Pembleton - Clarksville
Beauna R. Phillips - Memphis
Miriam M. Pietkiewicz - Shelbyville
Bradley G. Puckett – Collierville
Stephen A. Smith - Bartlett
John R. Stevenson - Bartlett
Leilani C. Tenorio - Millington
Sarah E. Thomas - Bartlett
Virginia B. Tidwell - Burns
Daniel E. Tillman - Shelbyville
Deanne L. Tole - Lexington
William A. Ward - Chattanooga
Brianna J. Wilkerson - Clarksville
Valencia M. Wooten – Memphis

From Mississippi:

Robert T. Benson - Southaven
Michael E. Garrard – Olive Branch
Katelyn E. Hesser-Nichols – Hernando
Ashley M. King - Flowood
Jacob L. Merryman – Byhalia
Ashley P. Ramos – Southaven

From Arkansas:

Jacklyn L. Carroll - Little Rock
Rachel E. Goodwin - Little Rock

Other recipients include Lauren A. Gale of Gilbert, Ariz.; Caitlin H. Fenton of Castle Rock, Colo.; Alyssa C. Northcutt of Wichita, Kan.; Leslie D. Berry of Clinton, Md.; and Patrick W. Lippert of Oconomowoc, Wis.

For more information on the Emerging Leaders program, call the Office of Student Leadership and Involvement at 901-678-8679.

Media Resources
Facts at a Glance

Office of Communications Services
303 Administration Building
Memphis, TN 38152
Phone: 901/678-2843
Fax: 901/678-3607
Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2015 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
Last Updated: 10/8/12