Media Room
University of Memphis Photo

Facts at a Glance
University Logos
Key Administrators

University Events
Events Calendar
Athletics Calendar
Alumni Upcoming Events
Music Performance Calendar

Communications Services
303 Administration Building
Memphis, TN 38152
Phone: 901/678-2843
Fax: 901/678-3607


U of M Will Award 1,567 Degrees at Winter Commencement Dec. 14

For release: December 3, 2013
For press information, contact Gabrielle Maxey, 901/678-2843

The University of Memphis will hold its winter Commencement on Saturday, Dec. 14, awarding a total of 1,567 degrees, including 27 doctorates, in two ceremonies at FedExForum.

During the 10 a.m. ceremony, the College of Arts & Sciences, the College of Communication and Fine Arts, the University College and the Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law will confer degrees. At 2 p.m., graduates of the Fogelman College of Business & Economics, the College of Education, Health and Human Sciences, the Herff College of Engineering, the Loewenberg School of Nursing, the School of Public Health and the School of Communication Sciences and Disorders will receive their degrees.

The featured speaker at the 10 a.m. ceremony will be Dr. James D. Eason, professor of surgery and chief of transplantation at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center and program director at Methodist University Hospital Transplant Institute. Throughout his career, Eason has earned numerous honors and awards. He was the Cystic Fibrosis Breath of Life Honoree in 2011 and was named “One of the 10 People Who Impacted Memphis Over the Last Decade” by The Commercial Appeal and one of the “Top Doctors” by Memphis Magazine in 2011.

The 2 p.m. speaker will be Senate Majority Leader Mark Norris. He serves on the board of the Memphis Research Consortium, which he helped create in 2010, and on the advisory board of the U of M’s Intermodal Freight Transportation Institute. Norris represents Shelby and Tipton counties in Tennessee’s 32nd Senatorial District. He was elected twice to the Shelby County Board of Commissioners. Norris was first elected to the Senate in 2000 and was re-elected to a fourth term last year with the most votes in state history.


Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2015 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
Last Updated: 4/15/15