Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law
University of Memphis Photo
Adjunct Faculty

• Skip to Legal Methods Adjunct Faculty

Tony Alexander
tony.d.alexander@gmail.com

Robert Banks
rbanks@memphis.edu

Leo Bearman, Jr.
lbearman@bakerdonelson.com

Allen S. Blair, Esquire
ablair@harrisshelton.com

David Case
dwcase@olemiss.edu

Prince C. Chambliss, Jr., Esquire
Prince.chambliss@gmail.com
pcchmbls@memphis.edu

The Honorable Christopher Craft
Christopher.Craft@shelbycountytn.gov

John D. Fabian
john.fabian@usdoj.gov
 
Richard Glassman
rglassman@gewwlaw.com

Douglas F. Halijan, Esquire
dhalijan@BPJLAW.com

General Albert Harvey
harveya@thomasonlaw.com

Hunter R. Humphreys
hhumphreys@glankler.com

Carl Jacobson
cjacobson@pcplc.com

The Honorable Judge David Kennedy
dkennedy@tnwb.uscourts.gov

Jennifer S. Kiesewetter
jkiesewetter@kiesewetterfirm.com

Hayden D. Lait, Esquire
haydenlait@gmail.com

Jon Lakey
jlakey@pcplc.com

The Honorable Jennie D. Latta
Jennie_d_lattta@tnwb.uscourts.gov

Lawrence J. Laurenzi
larry.laurenzi@usdoj.gov

Elissa Mulrooney
emm@brattononeal.com

Steve McDaniel, Esquire
smcdaniel@wmww.com

Gigi Gaerig McGown
gigi.mcgown@ipaper.com

Vincent Miraglia, Chief Council
vmiraglia@yahoo.com or Vincent.miraglia@ipaper.com

E. Haavi Morreim, JD, PhD
h-morreim@comcast.net

John F. Murrah, Esquire
jmurrah@evanspetree.com

Jennifer Nichols, Esquire
jennifer.nichols@scdag.com

Stephen C. Parker
Steve.parker@usdoj.gov

The Honorable Charles E. Pazar
Charles.Pazar@usdoj.gov

Vandana Peterson
vandana.peterson@gmail.com
 
Dorothy J. Pounders
dorothypounders@gmail.com

Jackie G. Prester, Esquire
jprester@bakerdonelson.com

Earle J. Schwarz
eschwarz@earle-schwarz.com

Stephen Shields, Esquire
sshields@jsyc.com

Jonathan Skrmetti
jonathan.skrmetti@butlersnow.com
 
Bryan K. Smith
bsmith@pcplc.com
 
David W. Spence
dws1556@gmail.com

The Honorable Mark Ward
Mark.ward@shelbycountytn.gov

David Wade
dwade@martintate.com

Josh Whitehead, AICP
josh.whitehead@memphistn.gov

  Legal Methods Adjunct Faculty - 2014-2015 
 

Randy Alden 

Randy Alden is a graduate of Ashland University (B.A., magna cum laude, 1989) and the Ohio State University College of Law (J.D., 1992).  He is an Assistant Federal Defender with the Federal Public Defender’s Office for the Western District of Tennessee.  He specializes in complex criminal litigation and is the Sentencing Resource Counsel for the District.  Prior to joining the Federal Public Defender’s office, Prof. Alden practiced at firms in Ohio and West Virginia.  Prof. Alden also served in the United States Army Reserve, Civil Affairs Branch, where he earned a Bronze Star for Meritorious Service during Operation Enduring Freedom, as well as numerous other awards.  Prof. Alden retired from the Reserve on December 31, 2012 with the rank of Major after 28 years of enlisted and commissioned service.

David Bell

David Bell is a graduate of Earlham College (B.A., 1998) and the University of Memphis School of Law (J.D., 2003). In law school, Prof. Bell was a member of two National Moot Court

Competition teams and served as Associate Chief Justice of the Moot Court Board.  He received the Dean’s Distinguished Service Award and the Moore Award for Outstanding Advocate in his class.  After law school, Prof. Bell was an Assistant Public Defender for Shelby County, Tennessee, and practiced primarily as a trial litigator before the Criminal Courts.  He has been named a Shelby County Outstanding Performer and is a graduate of the Memphis Bar Association’s Leadership Forum. Prof. Bell currently works as an Assistant Federal Defender in Memphis and has practiced before the Courts of the Eastern and Western Divisions of the Western District of Tennessee, as well as before the Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals.

Leetra Harris

Leetra Harris is a graduate of Spelman College (B.A., magna cum laude, 1995) and the Georgia State University College of Law (J.D., 2003).  While in law school, Prof. Harris was Managing Editor of the Georgia State University Law Review and a member of a winning mock trial team.  Prof. Harris presently serves as an Assistant United States Attorney in the Western District of Tennessee where she prosecutes a variety of complex federal criminal matters, including white collar crimes and civil rights violations.  In addition to her work as a federal prosecutor, Prof. Harris also served as an Assistant District Attorney in Atlanta, Georgia, where she was named Trial Court Attorney of the Year in 2010.  Prior to entering public service, Prof. Harris was a commercial litigation associate at two prestigious Atlanta law firms. 

Philip Oliphant

After earning an M.B.A. in finance from UCLA and following a successful career as a database developer in New York’s banking industry, Philip Oliphant returned to the classroom as a law student at Vanderbilt University in 2003. Upon graduating with his J.D. in 2006, Prof. Oliphant clerked for Judge Bernice Donald of the United States District Court for Western Division of Tennessee. In 2007, he became an Assistant City Attorney for the City of Memphis, where he has defended the City in countless tort and contract suits in state court, as well as constitutional claims in federal court.  Prof. Oliphant has also successfully argued twice before the Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals.  In 2011, Judge Bernice Donald was elevated to the Sixth Circuit and asked Prof. Oliphant to serve as her chief of staff, which he did for two years. In August 2013, he returned to the City Attorney’s office where he has played a leadership role in modernizing that office, in addition to maintaining a very busy litigation caseload.

Shea Oliver

Shea B. Oliver is a graduate of the University of Memphis (B.F.A., magna cum laude, 2002) and the University of Memphis Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law (J.D., summa cum laude, 2010).  While in law school, she served as the Senior Notes Editor of The University of Memphis Law Review. Following law school, Prof. Oliver clerked for the Honorable Jon P. McCalla, the then-sitting Chief Judge of the United States District Court for the Western District of Tennessee.  Prof. Oliver is currently a litigation associate with Burch Porter & Johnson, PLLC where she focuses on intellectual property matters and commercial litigation.  Prof. Oliver also serves on the Board of Directors of the Humane Society of Memphis & Shelby County.  

Edwin A. Perry

Edwin A. Perry is a graduate of the University of Wisconsin (B.A., cum laude, 1997) and American University—Washington College of Law (J.D., 2000).  At American, he served as Note & Comment Editor for the American University International Law Review and published a Note in the University of Miami Business Law Review.  Prof. Perry was a staff attorney for the United States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit from 2001 to 2003.  Prof. Perry is now an Assistant Federal Defender in Memphis.  

Kevin Ritz

Kevin Ritz is a graduate of the University of Virginia (B.A. with high distinction, 1997), Georgetown University (M.S., 1999), and the University of Virginia School of Law (J.D., Order of the Coif, 2004).  At law school, he served as Book Reviews Editor for the Virginia Law Review and won numerous prizes and awards.  Prof. Ritz clerked for the Honorable Julia Gibbons, United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit.  He currently works as an Assistant U.S. Attorney for the United States Attorney’s Office, Western District of Tennessee, where he is the Criminal Appellate Chief and Special Counsel to the U.S. Attorney.  He is a member of the U.S. Department of Justice’s Appellate Chiefs Working Group and teaches Appellate Advocacy at the National Advocacy Center in Columbia, South Carolina.

Rajiv Singh

Rajiv Singh is a graduate of Vanderbilt University (1989) and the University of Memphis Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law (J.D., 2000).  In law school, he served as Research Editor for the Tennessee Journal of Practice and Procedure.  Prof. Singh currently works as a Senior Attorney at Federal Express Corporations in its Business Transactions Group.

Jennifer Sink

Jennifer Sink is a graduate of Florida State University (B.S.) and Southern Illinois University School of Law (J.D., cum laude, 2003).  In law school, Prof. Sink served as the Editor in Chief of the Southern Illinois University Law Journal.  She also served on the Appellate Division of the law school’s Moot Court Board.  Prof. Sink is now a shareholder with Baker, Donelson, Bearman, Caldwell & Berkowitz, P.C.  Prof. Sink specializes in health care litigation and has been named a Mid-South Rising Star by Super Lawyers Magazine.  Prof. Sink also serves as legal counsel for the non-profit organization Dress for Success.

Sarah-Katherine Wright

Sarah-Katherine Wright is a graduate of Rhodes College (B.A., 2007) and the University of Tennessee College of Law (J.D., summa cum laude, 2010).  While in law school, Prof. Wright served as a staff editor for the Tennessee Journal of Law & Policy and the Tennessee Law Review.  After graduating from the University of Tennessee College of Law, Prof. Wright worked as a litigation associate for Butler, Vines & Babb PLLC in Knoxville, Tennessee.  Prof. Wright is currently a managing attorney with Realty Title & Escrow Company, a regional real estate firm.

Faculty & Staff News

Full-time Faculty
Clinic Faculty
Adjunct Faculty
Emeritus Faculty

Media Resource Guide 

Administration & Staff

Library Staff

Quick Contact Directory

Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2014 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
                       
Last Updated: 11/19/14