Fogelman College of Business and Economics
University of Memphis Photo
Kemmons Wilson School Students Win First Place
A team of students from the Kemmons Wilson School (KWS) placed first at the annual Hospitality Entrepreneurial Summit. The summit was held at the University of Delaware and was sponsored by Marriott International, McDonalds Restaurants and ARAMARK.  Over 200 students from twelve universities and twelve high schools participated.
The team from the University of Memphis won the award for the best business plan in the College & University category.  The team’s business plan featured a restaurant concept, SPRIGG, which incorporated “Urban fusion,” sustainability and use of fresh herbs grown onsite.  The concept promoted healthy living/eating in an unobtrusive manner.  The KWS team was comprised of Suzanne Reese, Zachary Lewis, Mellissa Smith, Ankur Sharma and Ryan Metzler. Dr. Leonard Jackson selected and coached the team.
“It is important that our students attend these conferences since they are exposed to the ownership side of the industry,” said Dr. Jackson, Associate Professor at the Kemmons Wilson School. “Not only is this a beneficial experience for our students, but winning these competitions additionally improves the profile of the Kemmons Wilson School and the University of Memphis.”
The first place prize included a cash award of $2,500.
The summit focused on hospitality business ownership and featured leading hospitality entrepreneurs and hotel and restaurant development executives.  The keynote speaker at the event was Sheila Johnson, CEO and owner of Salamander Hotels & Resorts-a portfolio of luxury hotels and spa & golf resorts.  Ms. Johnson also has ownership interests in ProJet Aviation, the NBA’s Washington Wizards, the NHL’s Washington Capitals and is the President and Managing Partner of the WNBA’s Washington Mystics.
This was the second time in three years that a team from the Kemmons Wilson School won the competition (the KWS did not participate last year).

Fogelman Flash Home

Dean Grover's Message

Three FCBE Faculty Awarded Professorships for Exemplary Leaders

FCBE Alumnus, George Johnson, Makes Generous Donation

Shawn Jones Wins Distinguished Teaching Award

Fogelman Business College’s Online MBA Program Ranked Among the Nation’s Best

Against All Odds Luncheon Inspires Students

Dhaliwal Recognized as a Faculty Research “Millionaire”

Executive MBA Program Honors Top Two Students with Dean’s Award

Seven FCBE Accounting Students Awarded Scholarships

Dr. Bill Kettinger Appointed Senior Editor of MIS Quarterly

Dr. Albert Okunade Honored by Economics Association

Four FCBE Staff Members Win Fogelman Force Awards

MIS Professor Kettinger Awarded Fulbright Visiting Professorship

SunTrust Bank Makes Generous Donation to FCBE

Dr. David Spiceland’s Textbook Goes Global

Kemmons Wilson School Students Win First Place

Assessment of Learning Program Ensures High Academic Standards at FCBE

Dr. David Kemme Selected for Prestigious Fellowship

Accounting Ph.D. Student Invited to Attend Scholarly Conference

Dr. Steven Jordan Receives Recognition for Articles

EMBA Students Receive Major Promotions

MILE Program Research Article Accepted for Publication

MIS Professor Receives Department of Defense Grant

Brian Janz and John Amis Win Best Paper Award

MIS Professors’ Articles are Accepted in Top-Rated MIS Journal

Dr. Bhagat Receives Journal Membership and Fellowship

FCBE Professors Receive Best Paper Award

Fogelman Professor and Former Student are selected for Publication

Dr. Rezaee’s Text “Corporate Sustainability” Wins Business Ethics Gold Axiom Award


Fogelman Flash Archive

Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2015 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
Last Updated: 5/2/13