Center for Research on Women logo
University of Memphis Photo

About the Safe Campus Initiative

Memphis Safe Campus Consortium

A Project of the United States Department of Justice to Reduce Violence Against Women on College Campuses

As part of the Memphis Safe Campus Consortium (MSCC), the UofM Center for Research on Women (CROW) was awarded funding in 2007 from the Department of Justice, Office of Violence Against Women, to help create a community-wide protocol for (1) responding to, (2) educating college students, faculty and staff about, and (3) preventing and reducing incidents of, violence against women on college campuses in Memphis.  CROW was charged with coordinating all MSCC activities, training and materials on the UofM campus.

Members of the MSCC included the University of Memphis, Crichton College, Christian Brothers University, and Rhodes College, along with the Memphis Sexual Assault Resource Center, The Exchange Club Family Center, the Memphis Crisis Center, and the Shelby County Crime Victims Center.

By approving CROW’s participation in this grant application, the University of Memphis Administration agreed to support and assist CROW as we worked with our Consortium partners and a University-wide Safe Campus Advisory Committee to:

 1)    Develop support services programs, including psychological counseling for victims of violence on the UofM Campus.

2)    Conduct trainings on the impact of violence against women, and means to reduce violence against women, for UofM safety and security employees, campus judicial boards, students, athletes, faculty, staff, and applicable contract vendors.

3)    Develop and implement effective campus policies, protocols, orders, and services specifically devoted to prevent, identify, and respond to violent crimes against women on the UofM campus.

4)    Improve methods of communication between local and campus law enforcement and victim service providers to ensure a coordinated community response to violence against women on the UofM campus

5)    Conduct data analysis and project evaluation for the MSCC.


The Center for Research on Women conducted research on the safety of female students on the University of Memphis campus.

In addition, the Center has assembled a University-wide Safe Campus Task Force. Members include:

  • Melinda Jones, Director of University Honors,

  • Anice R. Modesto, Psychologist Center for Counseling Learning and Testing,

  • Mary Wright, Research and Development UofM Police Services,

  • Lynn Parkes, Associate Athletic Director,

  • Brenda Cash, CHAMPS/Life Skills Athletics,

  • Daniel Armitage, Associate Dean Student Resident Life and Dining,

  • Dr. Jenina Cantler, Assistant Director Resident Life and Dining Services Administration,

  • Justin Lawhead, Associate Dean for Student Leadership and Involvement,

  • Angie Dunlap, Coordinator Student Activities for Student Leadership and Involvement,

  • Julia Adames, President Student Activities Council,

  • Crystal Hoonhorst, Speaker of the Senate, Student Government Association,

  • Jessie Mills, Athletic Academic Counselor,

  •  Linda Hall, Minority Affairs Coordinator,

  • Dr. Dwayne Scott, Associate Dean of Students for Judicial and Ethical Programs,

  • Jacqueline De Fouw, Health Educator, Student Health Services,

  • Dr. Anita D. Boykins, Assistant Professor, Loewenberg School of Nursing (Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner) ,

  •  Destin Tucker, Coordinator New Student Orientation Special Events,

How To Get Involved

If you are a member of the University of Memphis community and would like to be a part of the Safe Campus Task Force please contact the Center for Research on Women at 678-2770.


Need immediate help?  Call CRISIS-7 (274-7477)

Learn about violence against women

How to file a report

Protocol for Faculty & Staff

Information for Students

Campus Resources

What can men do?

Related links

The Rape, Abuse & Incest National Network (RAINN)

RAINN Information on Campus Safety

Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2015 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
Last Updated: 3/18/15