Department of Communication
University of Memphis Photo
About the Department Contact Us

Front of ACB

One of six departments in the College of Communication and Fine Arts, the Department of Communication includes 19 full-time faculty members, about 50 graduate students (MA and PhD), and 300 undergraduate majors.

We offer the undergraduate Communication Studies concentration at the main campus, the Lambuth campus, and online, and the Film & Video Production concentration at the main campus.

Open HouseOur graduate programs at the main campus include an MA in Film & Video Production, as well an MA and PhD in Communication, with emphases in rhetoric, health communication, and media.

Our mission is to prepare you to take your place as the next generation's scholar and leader.

Learn More About the Department's Areas:

Film & Video Production

Health Communication

Media, Technology, & Society

Rhetoric, Politics, & Society

Leroy Dorsey

Leroy G. Dorsey
Professor and Department Chair

Department of Communication
University of Memphis 
212 Arts & Communication Building
Memphis, TN 38152

Phone: 901-678-3171
Fax: 901-678-4331


Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2015 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
Last Updated: 10/9/14