College of Communication and Fine Arts
University of Memphis Photo
Message From CCFA Dean Richard Ranta

Richard R. Ranta, College of Communication & Fine Arts Dean

At the end of June 2013, the University of Memphis celebrated the successful closing of its Empowering the Dream Centennial Campaign  as well as the end of activities related to its 100th anniversary.

President Raines called it an “historic day for the University of Memphis” as she announced that we had not only met our goal of a quarter of a billion dollars, but also exceeded it by several million. As Dean of CCFA I truly appreciate the continued support of our alumni and community for our mission.

I thank all of our donors who generously empowered the dream for our students. The cover of this magazine illustrates one of the results of these contributions, The Martha and Robert Fogelman Galleries of Contemporary Art for the Department of Art in the Art and Communication Building (ACB). Although the official “thank you” and opening of the wonderful contemporary art galleries is this fall, art students have already benefited from their existence as spaces for their final BFA and MFA exhibitions.

Staying with the ACB (former law school building on Central Avenue), thanks to a generous gift from Jimmy Humphreys, the double atrium on the south side of the main floor has been renovated so art works may be hung in both spaces with appropriate lighting.

Furniture is being added to allow students and visitors to relax and enjoy the spaces and art works. They can even take a meal from the new Subway Café that will soon boast a mural by students of the Art Department. So stop in, view some wonderful contemporary art and relax indoors or in our outdoor plaza with a fresh Subway sandwich and drink.

There were many other generous gifts to CCFA and its units during the centennial campaign, many of which you will read about in this issue of CCFA Voices. Included are the Margaret and Charles Hubbert travel fund in Music, William R. Eubanks’ lecture series in Architecture/Interior Design, the Boyce’s film and video scholarship, Steve Luttmann’s honoring former Journalism professor L. Dupre Long, and Suntrust’s committment to music scholarship. For these gifts and many more including the generous support of the new music center, we are very grateful.

We also have very good news from our accreditation and reviews of departments. The Master of Architecture degree was accredited, Journalism was re-accredited and Communication received a very fine program review from state appointed outside consultants.

All these actions speak to the quality of the education our students are receiving. What also addresses the high quality of education in CCFA is the number of university awards again won by CCFA faculty and staff. Congratulations to Laurie Snyder, Katherine Hendrix, Kamran Ince, Carol Crown, Carrie Brown, Mike Schmidt, Michelle Vigneau, Sherry Bryan and many others, including students, who received awards from professional associations.

In closing, I want us to thank retiring music professors Bruce Erskine and Pamela Gaston for their many years of excellent service. Also, remember professors emeritus James Harrington of Art and Ethel Maxwell of the Scheidt School of Music, who both passed away this earlier this year. We also remember two members of our WUMR family, Evelyn “The Duchess” Ellington who left us in March and WUMR’s youngest on-air personality, Aaron Vasquez, a Communication major with a great future which was cruelly taken from him. We will miss them all.


Richard R. Ranta, Dean

small version of the nameplate for magazine


Richard R. Ranta

Moira Logan
Associate Dean

Katherine Goliver
Director of Development, CCFA

Mary Mansour
Business Officer

Laurie Snyder
Assistant to the Dean
for Undergraduate Programs

Rachel Holman
Academic Services Coordinator

Kimberly Rogers
College Media Coordinator

Hugh Busby
Local Support Provider II

Michael Hagge
Chair, Department of Architecture
Richard Lou
Chair, Department of Art
Leslie Luebbers
Director, Art Museum
of the University of Memphis
Leroy Dorsey
Chair, Department of Communication
David Arant
Chair, Department of Journalism
Randal Rushing
Director, Rudi E. Scheidt School of Music
Holly Lau
Chair, Department of Theatre & Dance
Michael Schmidt
Director, Center for Multimedia Arts
Marianne Rae Hartquist
Director of Development
Rudi E. Scheidt School of Music


Ward Archer
Rikki Boyce
Dean Deyo
Art Gilliam
Herman Markell
Charlotte Neal
Michael Osborn
Steve Pacheco
Mike Palazola
Chris Peck
Knox Phillips
David Porter
Frank Ricks
Mickey Robinson
Rudi E. Scheidt
Jack Soden
Jimmy Tashie
Ron Walter
Judy McCown
Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2015 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
College of Communication and Fine Arts | 901/678-2350 | Contact us
Last Updated: 9/3/13