College of Communication and Fine Arts
University of Memphis Photo
Theatre & Dance News & Notes

The Rudi E. Scheidt School of Music was competitively selected to host the 45th annual symposium of the International Horn Society.


Steven DiBlasi, Doctor of Musical Arts candidate, received the Graduate Assistant Meritorious Teaching Award given to two outstanding U of M graduate teaching assistants who have been nominated by faculty, staff or students.

In April, tuba and euphonium students competed in the South Central Tuba Euphonium Conference at LSU. The U of M placed second in the chamber music competition with a tuba quartet featuring Kevin McKenzie (junior), Mark Bonner (senior), Jeremy Morris (senior) and Will Hammer (junior).

Geoff Durbin, doctoral candidate, also won first place in the Euphonium Artist Division and performed Carmen Fantasy with the LSU Wind Ensemble.

Melodie Gable Moore, senior Music History student, received the School of Music Creative Achievement Award for outstanding accomplishments.


Kamran Ince, professor of Composition, has been awarded the U of M Alumni Association Distinguished Achievement in the Creative Arts Award. He is also one of four composers to receive a $7,500 Arts and Letters Award in Music in 2013, which honors outstanding artistic achievement and acknowledges the composer who has arrived at his or her own voice.

Copeland Woodruff, co-director of Opera Studies, directed the premiere of Rudolf Rojahn’s Bovinus Rex for Guerilla Opera at Boston Conservatory. He also directed a revisionist staging of Sondheim’s A Little Night Music at the Harrower Summer Opera Workshop at Georgia State University. Copeland taught and directed at an American Musical Theatre Workshop at Beijing University, China. He directed their first full production, Raise the Red Lantern. He also won the Dean’s Creative Achievement Award.

Victor Asuncion, associate professor of Piano, toured with Transpacific Trio, performing in Seattle, Vancouver, Sydney and Perth, Australia. They were also the resident Piano Trio and Faculty for the Australian Youth Orchestra Chamber Music Camp.

Guitar Professor Lily Afshar received a 2013 Faculty Research Grant.

Professor Lawrence Edwards, Conducting and Large Ensembles division head, was featured in the April ’13 issue of RSVP. He is area coordinator of Choral and Choral Music Education and has been with the Memphis Symphony Chorus for 25 years. He is only the second director in the history of the group.

Michelle Vigneau, associate professor of Oboe and member of the Memphis Woodwind Quintet, was named the Honor’s Program Professor of the Year and received the 2012-13 Excellence in Honors Teaching Award. The award is given by students to an effective and imaginative professor who taught an honors seminar during the academic year.


John Bass (PhD ’08) was featured in an April ’13 issue of The Daily News. He is the director of the Mike Curb Institute for Music at Rhodes College.

News & Notes










small version of the nameplate for magazine

Related Links

Rudi E. Scheidt School of Music


Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2015 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
College of Communication and Fine Arts | 901/678-2350 | Contact us
Last Updated: 9/3/13