College of Arts and Sciences
University of Memphis Photo

Two awards, in the amount of $7,500 each, will be presented at faculty convocation in the spring. The award was established by the Thomas W. Briggs Foundation to recognize outstanding undergraduate teaching and an overall commitment to undergraduate education. Previous award recipients are:

1996-97 Dr. Kevin Hagopian & Dr. Phillip Kolbe
1997-98 Dr. Thomas Caplinger & Dr. Ruthbeth Finerman
1998-99 Dr. Jack Grubaugh & Dr. Mark Timmons
1999-00 Dr. Julia Heath & Dr. Thomas D. Mason
2000-01 Ms. Candace Justice & Dr. Robert Marchini
2001-02 Dr. Melvin Beck & Dr. Charles Camp
2002-03 Dr. Nele Hempel & Dr. Kantaylieniere Y. Hill-Clarke
2003-04 Dr. Charles Biggers & Mr. Stephen Hancock
2004-05 Dr. William Jermann & Dr. John Hanneken
2005-06 Dr. Lawrette Axley & Dr. Robert Frankle
2006-07 Ms. Margaret Quinn & Dr. Dennis Laumann
2007-08 Dr. Nancy Mardis & Dr. Joe Hayden
2008-09 Dr. Anna Bess Sorin & Dr. Fred Albertson
2009-10 Dr. Donald Franceshetti & Dr. Irvin Tankersly
2010-11 Dr. John R. Haddock & Ms. Charlene Spiceland
2011-12 Dr. Mark Freilich & Mr. Kriangsiri "Top" Malasri
2012-13 Dr. Angela G. Grant & Mr. Leonard A. Jackson
2013-14 Mr. Jacob Allen and Ms. Nataliya Doroshenko

Award nominees must be full-time faculty members at the University of Memphis and must be currently teaching undergraduate courses. Tenure status is not required for nomination. You may download a nomination form by going to and clicking on the "Nomination Form" link. Nomination forms must be printed and returned with original signatures in order to be considered. Forms may also be obtained by calling the University of Memphis Alumni Center at extension 2586.

As requested by the Thomas W. Briggs Foundation, the selection committee will be comprised of recent University of Memphis alumni, faculty and a representative of the Briggs Foundation. The administration of the award is coordinated with the assistance from the Office of the Assistant Vice Provost for Academic Affairs.

The nomination deadline is in February of each year.

Attn: Corina Walker
Advancement Services
University of Memphis
407 Administration Building
Memphis, TN  38152

Email (PDF format with “Briggs Award” in the subject line)

Attn: Corina Walker
(901) 678-1699

What's Happening in the
College of Arts & Sciences?

Arts and Sciences E-Files Newsletter

Arts and Sciences PROFILES Newsletter Website

Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2015 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
Last Updated: 6/23/14