University of Memphis Photo

Professor Williamson Wins National AIA Award for Religious Architecture

Professor James F. Williamson, FAIA, has been selected as the 2014 recipient of the American Institute of Architects Edward S. Frey Award for career "contributions to religious architecture and support of the allied arts. "This national honor is given by the American Institute of Architects (AIA) / Interfaith Forum on Religion, Art, and Architecture (IFRAA) to an architect who has demonstrated " a passion for and dedication to quality worship and sacred spaces," including "fostering spiritual values and for promoting a cross-denominational community focused on religious arts and architecture."

The Edward S. Frey Memorial Award was established in 1981 by IFRAA, Inc. which later became a part of the AIA. Rev. Dr. Frey dedicated his life to his work as the Executive Director of the Commission on Church Architecture for the Lutheran Church of America. In that role he inspired architects to foster spiritual values in design. There have been only nine other recipients since 1981 (including Robert Durham, FAIA, Edward Larrabee Barnes, FAIA and Michael Crosbie, FAIA).

The award will be presented to Professor Williamson in June at the AIA National Convention in Chicago.

His professional practice, which focuses on the design of religious architecture, has included both new and restored churches across the country. During some 30 years of practice as a principal in his own firm in Memphis, he received over 30 architectural design awards at the local, regional, and national levels. His work has been published internationally. In addition, his professional activities have included leadership in the Interfaith Forum on Religious Art and Architecture and the American Institute of Architects, as well as articles, lectures, films, and presentations on religious architecture for professional and community groups.

At the University of Memphis, Professor Williamson teaches design studio, history, theory, and professional practice at both the graduate and undergraduate levels. He regularly incorporates the study of religious architecture into his teaching through the assignment of religious buildings to the students in his design studios.

Professor Williamson holds two Master of Architecture degrees from the University of Pennsylvania, where he was a student of Louis Kahn. He was later an Associate with Venturi, Scott Brown and Associates in Philadelphia. In 2005 he was elected to the College of Fellows of the American Institute of Architects in recognition of his notable contributions in architectural design and education.

Notable religious projects include the following:
Cathedral of The Immaculate Conception Renovation and Additions, Memphis, TN
Grace-St. Luke's Episcopal Church Restoration, Memphis, TN
Immanuel Lutheran Church, Memphis, TN
St. John's Episcopal Church Parish Activities Building, Memphis, TN
St. George's Episcopal Church, Germantown, TN
Interfaith Chapel, Eielson Air Force Base, Fairbanks, AK
Sacred Heart Cathedral Restoration and Additions, Rochester, NY
St. John's Episcopal Church, Johnson City, TN
St. Thomas More Catholic Church, Paducah, KY

St. George's Episcopal Church

St. George's Episcopal Church,  Germantown, TN
Image courtesy of Jeffrey Jacobs Photography



 Charter Members of Tau Sigma Delta Initiated 

The three charter members of the new Kappa Alpha Chapter of the Tau Sigma Delta Honor Society were initiated at the Halfway Soiree on Friday, 31 January. Faculty advisor Michael Hagge, with co-advisor Jennifer Barker and Dr. Richard R Ranta, Dean of the College of Communication and Fine Arts, presented the certificate of membership to Matt Sihvonen, Megan Hoover, and Jeremy Dollar.

Matt is a second year Master of Architecture student who also earned the BFA in Architecture at the University of Memphis. Megan is a first year M.Arch student and earned the BFA in Architecture and BFA in Interior Design degrees from the University of Memphis. Jeremy is a fourth year student in the BFA in Architecture degree program and plans to enter the M.Arch program in the fall.

Tau Sigma Delta (TSD) is the only national honor society for architecture and the allied arts in the USA. It was organized in 1913 at the University of Michigan by the faculty in Architecture and Landscape Design who selected the first group of fourth year honor students to be the founding members.

After expanding to other universities, Tau Sigma Delta developed from an honor society in Architecture and Landscape Architecture to become inclusive of upper level undergraduate and graduate students in Architecture, Landscape Architecture, Architectural Engineering, City Planning, Interior Design, and Industrial Design. TSD is active in over 80 universities with an accredited program in Architecture.

The Kappa Alpha Chapter of Tau Sigma Delta was formed at the University of Memphis in 2013. Former President Shirley Raines, shortly before leaving office, submitted the formal petition for establishment of a chapter and soon thereafter, we were notified the petition had been approved.

Membership in Tau Sigma Delta is based on scholarly achievement. To be eligible a student must have completed five semesters in the appropriate professional degree or professional degree sequence (4+2), have an overall GPA of 3.5, and be in the top 20 percent of his/her class.

Members of the second class of TSD will be initiated at the Department of Architecture Awards Reception in May. These new members include fourth year BFA in Architecture student Katherine Nelson and fourth year BFA in Interior Design students Leigh Barker and SooMin Kim.  The spring initiation will also include newly-eligible third year BFA and M.Arch students.

 TSD Initiation Janaury 2014

(l-r) Jennifer Barker, Michael Hagge, Jeremy Dollar, Megan Hoover, Matt Sihvonen, Richard Ranta



"A Vision for a Twenty-First Century University:  Rethinking the Entry to the Administration Building" Design Competition Results

News Archive

CCFA News Releases
U of M News Release Archive
U of M Features Archive
U of M Media Room

Text Only | Print | Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2013 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 
Admissions | Financial Aid | Registrar | Scholarships
Office of Admissions | 201 Wilder Tower | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901-678-2111 | Email Us
Last Updated: 4/15/14