Apply Now    |    Tuition Estimator    |    Undergraduate Programs    |    Graduate Programs    |    Admissions

go to main menusearch
Search Type
University of Memphis Photo

Student Ambassador Board

The Student Ambassador Board is an exclusive group of highly motivated and dedicated students that help host Alumni Association and Presidential events. It is the liaison between the administration, alumni, current student body, prospective students and the Memphis community. The Student Ambassador Board also sponsors Mudball each fall, which helps fund our scholarship, the J. Wayne Johnson Scholarship, which is awarded each spring to outstanding seniors. Members meet monthly host each of the University's Commencement ceremonies.

Upcoming Events

SAB 3 on 3 Basketball Tourney
Saturday, February 28, 10:00 am
CRIS Intramural Basketball Courts - Campus Rec Center
SAB is hosting a 3 on 3 basketball tournament! The cost is $15 per team. Registration forms can be found at the Alumni Center and the Student Leadership & Involvement Zone. Click here to download an application. Return registration forms upon entry. For more information, contact

SAB Mudball
Friday, April 10, 12:00 noon
Sign up today for SAB Mudball 2015! Team registration fee is $120 and includes a Mudball t-shirt for each member, drinks and entry. The deadline to submit applications is Monday, March 30, 2015 at 4:30 pm. Any applications received after the deadline will be assessed a $15 late registration fee (total application fee of $135.) Click here to register today. 

J. Wayne Johnson Scholarship

Applications are now being accepted for the 2015 J. Wayne Johnson Scholarship.

Full-time undergraduate students who are classified as juniors or seniors, OR graduating seniors who are attending graduate school at U of M with a 2.75 overall GPA are eligible. The number of deserving and qualified applicants will determine the amount. To be nominated, a student must receive an endorsement by one of the chartered campus organizations president or advisor. 

Click here to apply online. Application deadline: March 2, 2015

Congratulations to the 2014-2015 J. Wayne Johnson Scholarship recipients Mary Garcia and Russell Copeland, Jr.! Thank you to everyone for their continued support of our students and student ambassadors!

Make a Gift to SAB

The Student Ambassador Board is currently reaching out to all SAB members both past and present. We are seeking donations from our SAB family that will afford our students the best possible experience and training. While the Student Ambassador Board receives funding from the University, there are additional needs, costs, and projects that SAB would like to include in their future programming. Gifts from our SAB family are vital to cover these costs. Your gift will help to train and develop professionally all of our student ambassadors.


Thank you for your continued support!

Presidential Leadership Recognition

Congratulations to our Student Ambassador Board for being awarded the President's Leadership Recognition award for Most Spirited Organization. This is the second year in a row our board has been honored!

Recent Events

 Tiger Troops
Troops of Fort Huachuca, AZ, were scheduled to deploy to Afghanistan in the Fall, and SAB, together with the U of M Alumni Association, supplied them and their families with U of M items. All alumni, faculty, staff and students were encouraged to donate Tiger Gear, such as shirts, beads, flags, etc to the cause September 12-16.

Student Ambassador Board Retreat presented by Sky Zone
Saturday, August 23
SAB members joined together for a day of fun at their retreat. Thanks to awesome sponsor, Sky Zone!

2013 SAB Mudball
Thanks to everyone that participated in Mudball, an annual volleyball and tug of war tournament played in 6 inches of mud. A portion of the proceeds benefit the J. Wayne Johnson Memorial Scholarship. View Photos

2014-2015 Officers

President: Gabriel Okpah
Executive Vice President: Hallie Norman
VP of Communications: Paige Fehland
VP of Programming, Co-Chairs: Johnny Holmes and Jordan Garrison

2014-15 Ambassadors

Rocio Agundis
Justice Allen
Annika Bailey
Michael Barbour
Kala Bonner
Russell Copeland, Jr.
Paige Fehland
Sydney Featherstone
Dalton Fulcher
Jordan Garrison
Bria Gibson
Johnny Holmes
Alicia Kingston
David Knowles
Lily Mastron
Jasmine McGhee

Kendall McKee
Jared Moses
Hallie Norman
Shelby Piggott
Bradford Pippen
Gabriel Okpah
Aaron Robinson

Emilee Robinson
Javian Smith
Courtney Stafford 

Corey Tomlin
Jalisha Toy
Armaan Virani
Morgan Westbrook

Watch this video by President Gabriel Okpah, recorded at Vision Forum 2014, to learn more about the Student Ambassador Board and how you can get involved!


For more information about the Student Ambassador Board, contact Alumni Coordinator Jacki Rodriguez at or 901-678-3119.

Join the U of M Alumni Association SAB Gift apply SAB facebook
facebook twitter instagram linkedin youtube flicker

Got a Question? Ask TOM | Contact Us | Memphis, TN 38152 | 901/678-2000 | Copyright 2014 University of Memphis | Important Notice | Last Updated: 2/26/15

The University of Memphis is an AA/EEO employer and does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability, or age in its programs and activities. Full Non-Discrimination Policy.

ROCC logoTennessee Transfer Pathways logo